keys, crestone, and tidbits

Just tried a Kiwano (horned Melon) fruit.  Quite good.  Its a very odd appearance, like a yellow sea cucumber or hedgehog.  It tastes like watered down kiwi and seems bit like eating fish eggs. 

Also just finished reading Ecotopia.  I enjoyed it.  A bit dry and shallow at times but still a very interesting read.  I can definately see this happening! Brief summary: Its about a newspaper reporter sent int to a new country – northern california, washington and oregon have suceeded from the US and created what the hippies of the 60s envisioned.  A environmentally responsible society, very much based in tribalism and communism, with the boundaries between people broken down. 

At class in Taos yesterday, I locked my keys in the car.  I think its the first time ive ever done that.  I rarely lock the car.    But I left my laptop inside, downloading away. Right after class, Raoul smoked me and Orlando down.  Orlando showed us pictures of when his finger got shot off.

I wanted to hang out with them more but felt awkward and wasnt really in on their conversation.

When I got out of Orlandos Toyota truck, thats when I realized I didnt have my keys.  First I ran back to the truck and checked to make sure my keys hadnt fallen out of my pocket anywhere.  Didnt find them so went back to the classroom.  Apprently someone else in my class had lost his keys too, but he found them lol.  Heron, a dready guy in my class whos eyes always seem to be vibrating and seems kinda creepy, but still I like him, kept talkin to me.  I felt bad because I did really wanna talk with him but I was so preoccupied with finding my keys.  My teacher hooked me up with a woman who works at the college and was waiting around for the security guy to come along and close up some of the buildings.  I waited with her for a while and Leonard the security guy finally showed up.  He foudn a hanger and tried to help me break in.  He was a good natured man, always grinning and we laughed alot together through the whole process.  he had never broken in to a car before.  He managed to grab the handle in the backseat and pull it all the way out, but the car door wouldnt open.  He then startred trying to push over and open the lock, but the wire just couldnt apply enough pressure.  I kept suggesting a twig and he kept sorta blowin me off.. but finally he used his leatherman and we cut a willow branch and voila! a few tries and we had it open!

 

Last weekend was the Crestone Energy Fair, and it was really cool.  I had a fabulous veggie burrito made by Chokecherry farms, a permaculture farm there that Eric and I visited last year.  I also went to a talk by Scott Pittman, one of the top permaculturists in the world.  He said several things which were very useful, but I cant remember any except one right now – that in windy areas, put downa  heavy straw mulch, like 6” thick, wet it down, and then drizzle it with wheat paste to hold it all together so it doesnt blow away.

About voide

i am a : goth / punk / metalhead / hippie / anarchist / tribalist / wanderer / loner / empath / dreamer / idealist / nerd / dork / packrat / night owl / artist / weirdo / writer / survivor / discordian / gemini / farmer / scavenger / medicine woman / environmentalist / activist / explorer, and so on. i dare you to try and label me into any one category ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

