First Day of Classes at ASC

First day of classes at Adams State College.  Im taking Spanish with Eric, and then Mon, Wed, Fri I have HTML.  Thurs. evenings I go to Taos for Native Plants of the Southwest.

So far.. Spanish, meh.  Its an hour every morning at 9am mon – thurs. The classroom made me feel like high school.  Cramped and tight rows and could barely even see the teacher.  I hated the sterile atmosphere, such a stark contrast to Naropa.  It felt formal and while the teacher was a bit funny, I was pretty bored the whole time and the only thing that kept me awake was the fact I was so uncomfortable.  We didnt even go around the room and introduce ourselves.  I was disappointed that there is 2 guys besides my brother, both of them really too young for me and not very cute, and about 25 girls.  But some of the girls seemed cute and Im open lol.  As we work in groups and stuff later on hopefully Ill at least make some friends.  Im debating whether or not I want to keep this spanish class or try the once a week one in taos instead which would be right after my plants class.  The best benefit to this one is that if i dont get sick of going to it.. Ill really learn alot.  It will be drilled into my head every day, and then Eric and I will be on the same page and can practice with each other.

 

HTML which I was kinda dreading, because one of the first classes i ever took was a programming class at norwalk community college and i flunked out in the first month.  i didnt get it at all.  its like math.  but this class, i really like the teacher, i like the room.  i like my classmates despite there only being 6 of us.  im excited to be able to put together my own webpage.

 

After classes Eric and I walked around campus a bit and ended up in the library.  There was a small coffee stand on the 2nd floor giving away free coffee so i had one even tho im not a coffee fan.  I got to talking to Adam, the guy who owns it but is around my age, and the girl working with him, I forgot her name.  They were really encouraging that I could put y cultural sustainability degree to work and the girl handed me a few business cards of people she knows where I could possibly get a job.  They were really nice and fun to talk to.

Eric went down to the bookstore to see about getting books and I went upstairs to a meditation group.  There was a girl on the floor, being given meditation instruction by a woman in hippy clothes in a wheelchair.  A bald man with a gold name tag and adams state shirt welcomed me and i talked with him a little as a few other people showed up.  One was a man in his 40s who appeared very nervous – and quietly asked if it was okay to meditate with schizophrenia.  He said he had once tried before but the zen master had refused to teach him because of his condition.  The bald man was very supportive and didnt think he would have any problems.  The wheelchair lady apparently was running the show and as soon as she was done teaching the girl turned her attention to the rest of the group.  She was very demanding and made us arrange the chairs in a particular way, and was never quite satisfied.  The bald man asked her if she would give a brief instruction to the rest of the group and she grouchily replied that she had already given it to one person and didnt feel like doing it again.  She then started reading from “Zen Mind, beginners Mind” which is a good book, but instead of just reading a paragraph or two she must have read 10 pages, going on and on.  Finally she stopped and we started meditating, but it was so awkward with her attitude and everyone glanced around at each other, suppressing giggles.  I wanted to just show interest in the group but i knew eric was waiting, so i left quietly after a few minutes.  ive decided that i really dont want to go back, that woman really turned me off.  But I did realize that I want to start meditating again on a regular basis.  However I need to find a spot without distractions, definitely not my room, probably not in the house.  Ive tried outside but that was very difficult.  Im excited to one day build a meditation hut on the land. 

About voide

i am a : goth / punk / metalhead / hippie / anarchist / tribalist / wanderer / loner / empath / dreamer / idealist / nerd / dork / packrat / night owl / artist / weirdo / writer / survivor / discordian / gemini / farmer / scavenger / medicine woman / environmentalist / activist / explorer, and so on. i dare you to try and label me into any one category ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

