The Last 10 Days – Friday and Saturday

Friday I was so crapped out from the   camping experience, I cant really remember what I did after picking up the CSA.  OH YEAH!

I came back down to Antonito and decided to swing by the food bank here.  Ive only ever been to the Alamosa one.  They had a pretty good supply.  Not as much fresh stuff as the Alamosa one, but they had some good stuff.  Like Mountain House packaged camping /survival foods.. those are expensive! They had a whole bunch of them.

I got to talking with the woman running the food bank and she got really excited to hear about how pasionate i was about working a job that matters and wanting to help people and the environment.  So, as a volunteer I will be taking over and running the antonito food bank, all by myself.  And meanwhile, she is going to speak with her boss and get me set up with an interview to see if I can get a job with La Puente. AWESOME!

DSC_0143DSC_0146

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday – went exploring up the ridge where los pinos and san antonio rivers meet near ortiz that lawrence gallegos had mentioned to me is a spot with alot of native american artifacts.  The rockslide-road up was completely impossible to drive, and even walk.. I walked up the side slope, exploring along the way.  There was some black currant bushes and the berries were fabulous. i followed along the top of the hill, with a rock cliff extending 10-20 feet above me.  I followed some hawks, doing incredible aerial acrobatics like ive never seen hawks do before.  I let them lead me thinking they might know what i was looking for.  I didnt find anything in the area that they swooped over time and time again, but as i walked back from there towards a gap in the cliff above so i could get to the top of the ridge, i found what im pretty sure is native american pottery shards.  i gave an offering of tobacco and meditated, asking for permission before i even picked anything up.  i didnt want to make the same mistake of shay and george who found some pottery and then experienced some severe bad luck until they returned it to where they found it.

 

DSC_0145

up on the ridge, there were some campsites and a large open plain.  i found a very odd stone circle which gave me the creeps.  i didnt dare enter the circle because i felt like it was involved in some kind of ritual or spell.  they say antonito is the center of witchcraft.  now, i have no problem with witchcraft, but this was eerie.  one of the stones seemed to have something written on it in blood but it was too faded to read. 

see the picture to the right, the big flat white stone has something vaguely written on the surface.

About voide

i am a : goth / punk / metalhead / hippie / anarchist / tribalist / wanderer / loner / empath / dreamer / idealist / nerd / dork / packrat / night owl / artist / weirdo / writer / survivor / discordian / gemini / farmer / scavenger / medicine woman / environmentalist / activist / explorer, and so on. i dare you to try and label me into any one category ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

