Ben’s visit

So Ben came out here.. im not even sure how long it was, maybe 2 weeks. He was supposed to stay a couple months but I think he got bored. He watched a lot of movies and played video games most of the day lol. Eric was kinda a jackass while he was here, I think it was some kind of macho guy thing. Like never letting me drive and shit and hoarding the keys. They would sit in the living room and smoke together a lot, I felt really left out. They did like everything together but yet eric says he felt like he was barely out there with ben and that they always argued. Didn’t seem that way to me at all. They were ALWAYS together and I never felt included. So I just kinda isolated myself in my room. Ben talked A LOT about drugs. Eric just kept sayin how annoying it was, but I think it was just ben purging. When an addict leaves a situation and is suddenly left almost cold turkey, they obsess about the drugs. Also he just came from a group of people who were all about that, and we just aren’t. I know ben deep down was tryin to get away from that lifestyle, but was glorifying it because its what hes used to. Ben had new baby dreads and they were all spikey and cute.

It pisses me off tho that they were talkin shit about me when I got the truck stuck in the mud. Yeah I was goin a little too fast but it was a horrible sinkhole and was bound to happen. What bothers me even more is that eric bitched about it to everyone, but hasn’t said a word to anyone about how a few days later, he himself got stuck in the mud right there also.

Ben was pretty cool tho, hes quite intelligent and we had some good conversations. It was fun finding someone else into video games and knowledgeable about computers, most of my friends are like “whaaaa?” Hes all about legalizing all drugs, saying people should do what they want. I disagree. Marijuana should be legalized for so many reasons. But I don’t think meth and coke and heroin should be legal. There is just too much side consequence, too much putting yourself and others in serious risk. I liked Ben a lot overall tho, but it did irk me that he was comin to help us out and the whole time he didn’t chip in for gas (gave us 10 bucks when he left but man.. we drove 5x more than usual cuz he was here) and when we were shoveling dirt into the greenhouse, he did it for 5 minutes then sat down sayin he didn’t feel like doin it anymore while I slaved away shoveling for the next hour or so. I don’t mind shoveling myself but it annoyed me that he didn’t help more.

We took the Alamosa train while he was here, it was okay. The Antonito one is way better in my opinion. The Alamosa one didn’t even have any open air cars, and it was kinda cush. They said tho that it was more like what the rich people would have ridden in the 1930s, vs. the Antonito one is more like what general people and workers would have taken in the 1880s. Still nice views, and first time to visit la Veta. Was a nice town. Everything was closed tho and we ate crappy food out of a van.

Our cell phones weren’t working, well mine and Erics. And anyone else with Verizon in Conejos county. It was ridiculous. Suddenly just stopped working – if we tried to make a call a recording told us to enter our credit card number. When people tried to call us, it went straight to our voicemail. This lasted a good month. We went to the Verizon store a few times and they said a lot of people had this problem but they had no idea what to do about it. Finally they got tech support from corporate headquarters, but they didn’t do shit either. We called Blanca Telephone company, who owns the tower that Verizon rents from them, and they didn’t know either but after a few calls to them, they tried something, hit some button, and suddenly it worked again. Hurrah.

About voide

i am a : goth / punk / metalhead / hippie / anarchist / tribalist / wanderer / loner / empath / dreamer / idealist / nerd / dork / packrat / night owl / artist / weirdo / writer / survivor / discordian / gemini / farmer / scavenger / medicine woman / environmentalist / activist / explorer, and so on. i dare you to try and label me into any one category ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

